There is another statute of limitations to be met and during this time, the landlord must enforce the judgment of the money against you. It depends on the law of the state, but in most places the owner has between five and seven years to collect. California judgments last 10 years; However, if the owner has not recovered his money during this period, he can extend the verdict for a new decade. During this period, interest is collected on the judgment. The best option is to pay for what you owe as quickly as possible. Your landlord can also assert a right against you if you had an oral lease. The limitation period for tracking debts entered into under an oral agreement is two years, in accordance with the California Code of Civil Procedure § 339. If more than two years have passed since the breach of contract, your landlord cannot claim recovery from you. The two-year clock starts the day after you arrived late for the first time with the rent. *Owner-tenant law – residential rental agreements – limitation period. The limitation period for deferred lease actions under residential leases is three years, according to the Maryland Code, Courts & Judicial Proceedings Article, §5-101, whether the lease agreement contains a seal or language that purports to transform it into a seal contract, subject to a 12-year limitation period in accordance with the Maryland Code, Courts & Judicial Proceedings, § 5-102.
. . .